• Deutsch
  • Español
  • English
  • Français

Maria Buchinger Foundation Award


The award is granted to researchers by the Maria Buchinger Foundation every two years for scientific documentation on the topic of fasting. Its amount is 5.000 €.

2011 – Award presented to Prof. Christine Uhlemann

On June 25, 2011 the first Maria Buchinger Foundation Award was presented posthumously to Prof. Dr. Christine Uhlemann from the Competence Centre for Naturopathy at the University of Jena for her work “Uncontrolled clinical study on the effectiveness of ambulant therapeutic fasting for patients with arthrosis”. The award endowed with € 5000 was presented on her behalf to Dr. Sebastian Schmidt und Katrin Stoy, the two authors of the research and students of Prof. Uhlemann.

2013 Award presented to Prof Valter Longo, Los Angeles (USA)

On June 29, 2013 the MBF Award was presented to Prof Valter Longo, University of Southern California. The main focus of his work is the research on the fundamental mechanisms of aging and the decryption of molecular signaling pathways in the fasting area.

Professor Longo made revolutionary publications on fasting and its anti-oxidant effects as well as investigations on the effects of short fasting cycles during chemotherapy.

His numerous publications on fasting and longevity have appeared in the most prestigious scientific journals.

2015 Award presented to Dr Heinz Fahrner and Dr Hellmut Lützner, Überlingen

On June 27, 2015 the MBF Award was presented to Dr Heinz Fahrner and Dr Hellmut Lützner for their life in the support of therapeutic fasting. He is author of the standard work “Fasting as a therapy”, founder and honorary chairman of the Medical Association for Therapeutic Fasting and Nutrition e.V. (ÄGHE)

Dr Hellmut Lützner was a senior physician in the Buchinger Wilhelmi clinic from 1961 to 1973 and chief physician at Kurpark-Klinik in Überlingen from 1975 to 1992. He is the author of numerous books, founder of the short-fast movement "Fasting for healthy people" and also honorary chairman of the ÄGHE e.V.

2017 Award presented to Dr Yvon Le Maho, Strasbourg (F)

Dr Le Maho is Emeritus Research Director at the CNRS, Hubert Curien Multidisciplinary Institute (University of Strasbourg) and Director at the Monaco Scientific Center.

Together with his team, he has been researching the spontaneous fasting of wild animals, especially penguins, for several decades. His numerous publications on the fasting physiology in various animals have provided valuable insights and significant scientific support for the practice of prolonged fasting in humans and for its therapeutic use.

2019 Award will be presented to Prof Mark Mattson, Baltimore (USA)

This year's MBF Award will be presented to Prof Mark Mattson, John Hopkins University Scholl of Medicine, Baltimore on June 29, 2019. He has made a remarkable contribution to the scientific documentation about the influence of fasting on cerebral metabolism with his work.

Some of the award ceremonies can be seen in fasten.tv

Maria Buchinger Foundation